Regions Central Virginia

New president named at John Tyler Community College

  •  | 
Print this page

Dr. Edward E. “Ted” Raspiller will become the seventh president of John Tyler Community College on Aug. 5.

He is currently president of the Brazos County Campuses at Blinn College in Bryan, Texas. Previously, Raspiller directed the Community College Leadership doctoral program at Old Dominion University.

Raspiller succeeds Dr. Marshall W. Smith, who retires this year after serving as John Tyler Community College president for nearly 23 years.

Raspiller was named president for the Brazos County Campuses at Blinn College in November 2011 after serving a year leading those campuses as provost. From 1999 to 2003, he was dean of technical and workforce education at Blinn.

At Old Dominion, in addition to directing the doctoral Community College Leadership program from 2006-10, he chaired the educational foundations and leadership department.

Raspiller served as interim president at Waukesha County Technical College in Wisconsin in 2006, where he was vice president of learning innovations from 2003-2006. In addition to Blinn College, he has also held positions at Texas State Technical College; Southeastern Community College in Burlington, Iowa; and Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, Illinois.

He holds a doctorate and a master’s degree from Northern Illinois University as well as a bachelor’s degree from Governors State University and an associate’s degree from the College of DuPage.

John Tyler Community College is the fifth largest of the 23 community colleges in Virginia. It has campuses in Chester and Midlothian and off-campus classrooms throughout the area. The college served more than 14,895 students during the 2011-12 academic year,

Reader Comments

comments powered by Disqus

showhide shortcuts