Regions

Life insurers

  •  | 
Print this page
  Life insurer Headquarters Phone Website Market
share
Direct Va.
premiums
written1
1 Minnesota Life Insurance St. Paul, Minn. (800) 643-5728 securian.com 6.64% $275,747,965
2 Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Milwaukee, Wis. (414) 661-9631 northwesternmutual.com 6.04 250,943,682
3 Metropolitan Life Insurance New York (800) 638-5433 metlife.com 5.13 213,049,268
4 Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Springfield, Mass. (800) 272-2216 massmutual.com 4.57 189,993,843
5 New York Life Insurance New York (800) 225-5695 newyorklife.com 4.42 183,663,289
6 Lincoln National Life Insurance Fort Wayne, Ind. (800) 487-1485 lfg.com 4.03 167,402,023
7 Prudential Insurance Co. of America Newark, N.J. (800) 778-2255 prudential.com 3.10 128,755,592
8 State Farm Life Insurance Bloomington, Ill. (800) 782-8332 statefarm.com 2.77 114,918,207
9 John Hancock Life Insurance Co. USA Boston (800) 732-5543 johnhancockinsurance.com 2.62 108,773,814
10 American General Life Insurance New York (800) 888-2452 aig.com 2.28 94,890,210
11 Aetna Life Insurance Hartford, Conn. (800) 872-3862 aetna.com 2.08 86,449,407
12 Life Insurance Co. of North America Bloomfield, Conn. (800) 362-4462 cigna.com 2.00 83,195,617
13 USAA Life Insurance San Antonio (800) 531-8722 usaa.com 1.90 79,103,564
14 Guardian Life Insurance Company of America New York (888) 482-7342 guardianlife.com 1.90 78,971,423
15 Transamerica Premier Life Insurance Cedar Rapids, Iowa (800) 851-9777 premier.transamerica.com 1.85 76,715,996
16 Pruco Life Insurance Newark, N.J. (800) 778-2255 prudential.com 1.67 69,551,743
17 New York Life Insurance and Annuity Corp. New York (800) 225-5695 newyorklife.com 1.62 67,192,097
18 Metlife Insurance Co. USA Des Moines, Iowa (800) 334-4298 metlife.com 1.48 61,503,143
19 Genworth Life and Annuity Insurance2 Richmond (888) 436-9678 genworth.com 1.41 58,765,388
20 Transamerica Life Insurance Cedar Rapids, Iowa (800) 797-2643 transamerica.com 1.41 58,609,763
21 United Of Omaha Life Insurance Omaha, Neb. (800) 676-7733 mutualofomaha-lifeinsurance.com 1.28 53,217,796
22 AXA Equitable Life Insurance New York (800) 777-6510 us.axa.com 1.19 49,414,806
23 Midland National Life Insurance Sioux Falls, S.D. (800) 923-3223 midlandnational.com 1.17 48,678,078
24 Pacific Life Insurance Newport Beach, Calif. (800) 347-7787 pacificlife.com 1.13 46,734,768
25 Primerica Life Insurance Duluth, Ga. (800) 257-4725 primerica.com 1.12 46,569,673

1 Written for calendar year 2015.       2 Genworth currently does not offer life insurance.         Source: State Corporation Commission


Reader Comments

comments powered by Disqus


showhide shortcuts