Industries

Life insurers

  •  | 
Print this page
  Life insurer Headquarters Phone Website Market share Direct Va. premiums written1
1 Minnesota Life Insurance St. Paul, Minn. (800) 843-8358 securian.com 6.83% $290,075,775
2 Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Milwaukee, Wis. (866) 950-4644 northwesternmutual.com 6.00 254,730,767
3 Metropolitan Life Insurance New York (800) 638-5433 metlife.com 5.26 223,587,770
4 Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Springfield, Mass. (800) 272-2216 massmutual.com 4.68 198,897,064
5 New York Life Insurance New York (800) 225-5695 newyorklife.com 4.59 194,734,091
6 Lincoln National Life Insurance Fort Wayne, Ind. (800) 487-1485 lfg.com 4.29 182,034,615
7 State Farm Life Insurance Bloomington, Ill. (800) 782-8332 statefarm.com 2.79 118,552,088
8 Brighthouse Financial Co. Charlotte, N.C. (800) 638-5433 brighthousefinancial.com 2.56 108,623,453
9 John Hancock Life Insurance Co. USA Boston (844) 278-8234. johnhancockinsurance.com 2.43 103,158,250
10 Prudential Insurance Co. of America Newark, N.J. (800) 778-2255 prudential.com 2.28 96,922,877
11 Aetna Life Insurance Hartford, Conn. (800) 872-3862 aetna.com 2.14 91,089,804
12 American General Life Insurance New York (800) 888-2452 aig.com 2.11 89,729,864
13 Life Insurance Co. of North America Bloomfield, Conn. (855) 358-8533 cigna.com 1.99 84,684,415
14 USAA Life Insurance San Antonio (800) 531-8722 usaa.com 1.92 81,561,668
15 Pruco Life Insurance Newark, N.J. (800) 778-2255 prudential.com 1.91 81,143,559
16 Transamerica Premier Life Insurance Cedar Rapids, Iowa (800) 851-9777 premier.transamerica.com 1.88 80,008,206
17 Guardian Life Insurance Co. of America New York (888) 482-7342 guardianlife.com 1.87 79,514,117
18 New York Life Insurance and Annuity Corp. New York (800) 225-5695 newyorklife.com 1.48 62,704,377
19 United of Omaha Life Insurance Omaha, Neb. (800) 676-7733 mutualofomaha-lifeinsurance.com 1.39 58,970,306
20 Transamerica Life Insurance Cedar Rapids, Iowa (800) 797-2643 transamerica.com 1.36 57,757,496
21 Great-West Life & Annuity Insurance Co. Greenwood Village, Colo. (800) 537-2033 greatwest.com 1.20 50,797,362
22 Primerica Life Insurance Duluth, Ga. (800) 257-4725 primerica.com 1.15 49,017,410
23 AXA Equitable Life Insurance New York (800) 777-6510 us.axa.com 1.11 47,139,638
24 ReliaStar Life Insurance Co. Woodbury, N.Y. (877) 886-5050 voya.com 1.11 47,001,484
25 Pacific Life Insurance Newport Beach, Calif. (800) 347-7787 pacificlife.com 1.05 44,431,881

1 Written for calendar year 2016.                                          Source: State Corporation Commission




Reader Comments

comments powered by Disqus


showhide shortcuts