People - August 2010

  •  | 
Print this page


Jeffrey V. Haley, named president and director, American National Bank and Trust Co., Danville. He was also named executive vice president of the bank’s holding company. He joined the bank in 1997. (Danville Register & Bee)

Linda Hutson Green, elected to the board of directors, National Business Incubation Association. Green is president of the Dan River Business Development Center. (Danville Register & Bee)

Carlyle Ramsey, named to the Virginia Commission on Higher Education Reform. Ramsey is president of Danville Community College. (Danville Register & Bee)


David Bernd, named rector of Old Dominion University’s board of visitors. Bernd is CEO of Sentara Healthcare in Norfolk. (The Virginian-Pilot)

Melissa Burroughs, named Virginia Financial Services Champion of the Year by the Small Business Administration. She is executive vice president and chief lending officer for Old Point National Bank, Hampton. (News release)

Ronald A. Day, named president and COO, Bank of Hampton Roads. He was chairman and CEO of RBC Card Bank Georgia. (Inside Business)

John T. Midgett, elected president of the Hampton Roads Estate Planning Council. He is founding partner of the Virginia Beach law firm Midgett & Preti. (News release)

Tom Mountjoy, named director of Bay Diesel & Generator, Chesapeake. He was a consultant for the company on corporate development. (News release)

Joseph Michael Oddis, named CEO, Bon Secours Maryview Medical Center, Portsmouth. He was president of Harbour Hospital in Baltimore. (Inside Business)

Douglas L. Smith, named president and CEO of Kaufman & Canoles Consulting Group, Norfolk. He was vice president of the firm. (Inside Business)

Jim Spore, named winner of the Award for Career Excellence from the International City/County Management Association. Spore is city manager for Virginia Beach. (The Virginian-Pilot)

Gilbert Yochum, named interim dean of the College of Business and Public Administration, Old Dominion University. He is an economics professor at ODU and director of its economic forecasting project. (Inside Business)


Russell Barksdale, named president and CEO, Friendship Retirement Community, Roanoke. He held the same positions at Hempstead Healthcare in suburban New York City. (The Roanoke Times)

Nathaniel Bishop, named president of Carilion Clinic’s Jefferson College of Health Sciences. A Carilion vice president since 2002, he was interim president. (The Roanoke Times)

William Haynie, named director, Independent Insurance Agents of Virginia. He is president of Humphrey, Stump & Haynie of Salem. (The Roanoke Times)

William R. Knocke, named associate vice president for research programs, Virginia Tech. Knocke has been a professor of civil and environmental engineering. (News release)

John Provo, named interim director of the Office of Economic Development, Virginia Tech. He joined the staff in 2004. (News release)

Robin Reed, named president, National D-Day Memorial Foundation, Bedford. He has held positions with Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, the Smithsonian Institution and the Museum of the Confederacy. (The Roanoke Times)

Larry Rodriguez, named senior vice president for global sales and marketing, PixelOptics Inc., Roanoke. He was previously managing vice president for sales and marketing, Capital One. (News release)


Robin Sullenberger and Linwood Rose, named to the Govenor’s Commission on Higher Education Reform, Innovation and Investment. Sullenberger is CEO of Shenandoah Valley Partnership, and Rose is president of James Madison University. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

Doug Walker, named county administrator for Shenandoah County. Walker is a former city manager of Waynesboro. (News-Virginian)


Geoffrey Ax, named executive vice president, federal programs, Gresham, Smith and Partners, Richmond. His 12 years of design experience has been focused on aviation. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

Tom Farrell, named to head the Governor’s Commission on Higher Education Reform, Innovation and Investment. Farrell is CEO of Dominion Resources and a former rector of the University of Virginia. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

Samuel T. Mintz, named vice president at Scott & Stringfellow, Richmond. He joined the firm in 2002. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

Gary Paul Paganne, named senior vice president for marketing services, Alder & Associates, Richmond. He previously held positions at Genworth Financial. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

Darrel Staat resigned as president of Central Virginia Community College, Lynchburg, to become president and executive director of the South Carolina Technical College System. Cynthia Bambara from Lord Fairfax Community College will serve as interim president. (The News & Advance)

Kathryn C. Thornton, inducted into the Astronaut Hall of Fame. She is associate dean of graduate programs for the engineering school at the University of Virginia. (WCAV)


Ian T. Graham, named senior vice president and general counsel, BAE Systems Inc., Arlington. He was the company’s vice president and deputy general counsel. (Business Wire)

Brian D. Helman resigned as CFO, Rosetta Stone Inc., Arlington, in order to return to Florida. He joined the company in 2007. (Business Wire)

James Jackson, named mid-Atlantic regional president, Capital One Bank, McLean. He joined the bank in 2009 as executive vice president of branch distributions. (Washington Business Journal)

Donald W. Layden Jr., named director, Online Resources Corp., Chantilly. He is an adviser on payments and transaction processing to Warburg Pincus LLC. (Business Wire)

Vincent A. Maffeo, named executive vice president and general counsel, Science Applications International Corp., McLean. He was senior vice president and general counsel of ITT Corp. (PRNewswire)

Wayne M. Rehberger, named vice president and CFO, TASC Inc., Chantilly. He was COO of XO Holdings. (PRNewswire)

Deborah Ricci, named CFO, A-T Solutions Inc., Vienna. Also, Mike Wise was named executive vice president for mission support solutions. (Business Wire)

Allen Roberts, named vice president of operations, Cox Virginia, Herndon.  Also, Dianne Earley was named vice president of Cox Media Virginia. (PRNewswire)

John Wasson, named president, ICF International Inc., Fairfax. He joined the company in 1987 and was named COO in 2003. (Washington Business Journal)

Reader Comments

comments powered by Disqus

showhide shortcuts