McDonnell names members of higher education commission

  •  | 
Print this page

Gov. Bob McDonnell’s higher education commission includes eight college presidents, state legislators and business representatives.

The Governor’s Commission on Higher Education Reform, Innovation and Investment is tasked with recommending ways to improve college affordability, increase higher education attainability in Virginia and increase the number of students studying science, technology, engineering and mathematics. The group will start meeting in July and are scheduled to send recommendations to McDonnell in November.

The commission will be chaired by Thomas Farrell, the chairman, president and CEO of Dominion Resources. Farrell is a former rector of the University of Virginia. He served on McDonnell’s gubernatorial transition team.

Secretaries of education, technology, and finance or their designates, and the vice chairman of the Council on Virginia’s Future will serve on the committee.

In addition, the commission includes:

·      William Barr, former U.S. attorney general

·      Bill Bosher, executive director, Commonwealth Policy Institute and distinguished professor of public policy and education, Virginia Commonwealth University

·      John Broderick, president, Old Dominion University

·      Del. Kirk Cox, Colonial Heights

·      Del. Rosalyn Dance, Petersburg

·      JoAnn DiGenarro, president, Center for Excellence in Education

·      Mark Dreyfus, president and CEO, ECPI Colleges

·      Jerry Falwell, Jr., chancellor, Liberty University

·      Heywood Fralin, CEO of Medical Facilities of America Inc.

·      Dr. Rachel Fowlkes, executive director, Southwest Virginia Higher Education Center

·      Dr. William Harvey, president, Hampton University

·      Bob Holsworth, founder and president, Virginia Tomorrow

·      Sen. Edd Houck, Spotsylvania

·      Robert Lindgren, president, Randolph-Macon College

·      Del. Scott Lingamfelter, Prince William

·      Thomas Loehr, executive vice president - Crosspointe Operations, Rolls Royce

·      Mirta Martin, interim dean, School of Business and professor of management, Virginia State University

·      G. Gilmer Minor, chairman, Owens and Minor Inc.

·      Pamela Moran, superintendent, Albemarle County Public Schools

·      Raj Narasimhan, site director, Micron Technology Virginia

·      Paul Nardo, chief of staff, Speaker William J. Howell

·      Sen. Steve Newman, Lynchburg

·      Leslie Peterson, director of operations, Chmura Economics and Analytics

·      B. Carlyle Ramsey, president, Danville Community College

·      Linwood Rose, president, James Madison University

·      Del. Tom Rust, Herndon

·      Charles Steger, President, Virginia Tech

·      Sen. Walter Stosch, Glen Allen

·      Todd Stottlemyer, executive vice-president, Inova Health System

·      Robin Sullenberger, CEO, Shenandoah Valley Partnership

·      Paul Trible Jr., president, Christopher Newport University

·      Sen. William Wampler, Bristol

·      Charlie Whitaker, senior vice president of human resources and compliance, Altria Client Services Inc.

Reader Comments

comments powered by Disqus

showhide shortcuts