McDonnell appoints 64 members to development and jobs commission

  •  | 
Print this page

Gov. Bob McDonnell has appointed 64 executives, business owners,  cabinet members, legislators and business association leaders to his Economic Development and Jobs Creation Commission.

The commission was McDonnell’s first executive order, which he issued the same day he was inaugurated. The commission is charged with developing a plan to encourage business investment and create jobs in the recession’s aftermath.

The commission will first meet in May and deliver its report to McDonnell in October.

McDonnell’s appointments include some of Virginia’s well-known business leaders: including Randall Kirk, a biotech entrepreneur and CEO of Radford-based asset management firm Third Security; MeadWestvaco CEO John Luke; Omniplex Worldwide CEO Julien Patterson; Alpha Natural Resources CEO Mike Quillen; and Richard Sharp; a former Circuit City CEO and CarMax chairman who is managing director of V-Ten Capital Partners.

Lt. Gov. Bill Bolling and McDonnell’s Senior Economic Adviser Bob Sledd will chair the commission.

Following are the members of the commission:

·      Lieutenant Governor Bill Bolling              

·      Bob Sledd,  governor’s senior economic adviser

·      Jim Cheng,  secretary of commerce and trade

·      Todd Haymore,  secretary of agriculture and forestry

·      Lisa Hicks-Thomas,  secretary of administration

·      Gerard Robinson,  secretary of education

·      Ric Brown,  secretary of finance

·      Doug Domenech,  secretary of natural resources

·      Jim Duffey,  secretary of technology

·      Sean Connaughton,  secretary of transportation

·      Don Banker, CEO and owner, Banker Steel, Lynchburg

·      Steve Baril, partner, Williams Mullen, Richmond

·      John Biagas, CEO, Bay Electric, Newport News

·      Tom Brock, retired vice president, General Electric, Roanoke

·      Del. Kathy Byron, co-owner of B&B Presentations, Bedford

·      Mel Chaskin, chairman, Virginia-Israeli Advisory Board, Clifton

·      Christine Chmura, president and chief economist, Chmura Economics & Analytics, Richmond

·      Del. Barbara Comstock, McLean

·      Dr. Deborah DiCroce, president, Tidewater Community College, Chesapeake

·      Helen Dragas, president and CEO, The Dragas Cos., Virginia Beach

·      James W. Dyke, partner, McGuireWoods LLP; chairman, Greater Washington Board of Trade

·      Joe Funkhouser, president, Coldwell, Banker and Funkhouser Realtors, Harrisonburg

·      Lisa Gable, executive director, Healthy Weight Commitment Foundation, Fauquier

·      Anne Gavin, state government affairs regional manager, Microsoft, Reston

·      Tom Godfrey, president, Colonna’s Shipyard, Norfolk

·      Julia Hammond, state director, National Federation of Independent Business, Richmond

·      Ann Heidig, president, Virginia Wineries Association, Spotsylvania

·      Mark Herzog, executive director, Virginia Biotechnology Association, Richmond

·      Del. Matthew James, director, Peninsula Council for Workforce Development, Portsmouth

·      Donna Johnson, president, Virginia Agribusiness Council, Richmond

·      Kenneth S. Johnson, founder, Johnson Inc., Richmond

·      Pat Jones, vice president and general manager, Kings Dominion, Richmond

·      Quintin Kendall, director of government affairs, CSX Transportation, Richmond

·      Del. Terry Kilgore, chairman of the Tobacco Commission, Gate City

·      Andrea Kilmer, vice president, ESG Enterprises, Virginia Beach

·      Randall Kirk, senior managing director and CEO, Third Security, Radford

·      John Langlois, president, Tele-Video Productions, Virginia Beach

·      Bob Leber, director,  education and workforce Development, Northrop Grumman, Newport News

·      Chris Lloyd Sr., vice president and director of infrastructure and economic development, McGuireWoods Consulting, Richmond

·      Frank Longaker, president, National Business College, Roanoke

·      John Luke, CEO, MeadWestVaco Corp., Richmond

·      Bengt Lundgren, manager, Swedwood, Danville

·      Del. Danny Marshall, Danville

·      Mike Melo, president, ITA International, Newport News

·      Caren Merrick, co-founder, Webmethods, Reston

·      Donna Morea, president, US, Europe and Asia, CGI and chair, Northern Virginia Technology Council

·      Christofer Mowry, president, Babcock and Wilcox Nuclear Energy, Lynchburg

·      Dakshay Patel, managing member, American Enterprises, Richmond

·      Julien Patterson, CEO, Omniplex Worldwide, Chantilly

·      Sen. Phil Puckett, vice president of business development for First Bank & Trust Co. , Tazewell

·      Harold Pyon, supervisory patent examiner, U.S. Department of Commerce, Patent and Trademark Office, Fairfax

·      Mike Quillen, founder and CEO, Alpha Natural Resources, Abingdon

·      Daphne Reid, TV and film actor, co-owner, New Millennium Studios, Petersburg

·      Brenda Robinson, president and CEO, Environmental Solutions Inc., Richmond

·      Richard Sharp, managing director, V-Ten Capital Partners, Richmond

·      Sudhakar Shenoy, chairman and CEO, IMC, Fairfax

·      Bob Skunda, president and CEO, Virginia BioTechnology Research Park, Richmond

·      Steve Smith, CEO, Food City, Bristol

·      Dona Storey, owner, Quality Tech Services,  president and CEO,, Norfolk

·      Bruce Thompson, CEO, Gold Key/PHR Resorts and Hotels, Virginia Beach

·      Fred Thompson, chief administrative officer, Thompson Hospitality, Herndon

·      Brett Vassey, president and CEO, Virginia Manufacturers Association, Richmond

·      Sen. Frank Wagner, president and CEO, Davis Boat Works, Virginia Beach

·      Michel Zajur, president, Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Richmond

Reader Comments

comments powered by Disqus

showhide shortcuts