Industries

Life insurers

  •  | 
Print this page
  Life insurer Headquarters Phone Website Market share Direct Va. premiums written1
1 Minnesota Life Insurance Co. St. Paul, Minn. (833) 810-8267 securian.com 6.61% $294,033,185
2 Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Co. Milwaukee (866) 950-4644 northwesternmutual.com 5.68 252,445,898
3 Zurich American Life Insurance Co. Schaumburg, Ill. (800) 382-2150 zurich.com 4.98 221,453,779
4 Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. New York (800) 638-5433 metlife.com 4.96 220,674,473
5 New York Life Insurance Co. New York (800) 359-1664 newyorklife.com 4.71 209,535,839
6 Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Co. Springfield, Mass. (855) 999-9805 massmutual.com 4.39 195,139,445
7 Lincoln National Life Insurance Co. Fort Wayne, Ind. (800) 487-1485 lfg.com 4.19 186,401,416
8 State Farm Life Insurance Co. Bloomington, Ill. (844) 242-1899  statefarm.com 2.70 119,883,518
9 John Hancock Life Insurance Co. (U.S.A.) Boston (800) 829-6341 johnhancock.com 2.37 105,545,330
10 Prudential Insurance Co. Of America Newark, N.J. (800) 556-8527 prudential.com 2.20 97,658,771
11 American General Life Insurance Co. New York (800) 888-2452 aig.com 2.08 92,495,904
12 Pruco Life Insurance Co. Newark, N.J. (800) 556-8527 prudential.com 2.00 89,063,309
13 Guardian Life Insurance Co. of America New York (888) 482-7342 guardianlife.com 1.89 84,040,482
14 USAA Life Insurance Co. San Antonio (800) 245-4398 usaa.com 1.86 82,697,063
15 Transamerica Premier Life Insurance Co. Cedar Rapids, Iowa (800) 797-2643 transamerica.com 1.84 81,836,153
16 Nationwide Life Insurance Co. Columbus, Ohio (855) 590-9780 nationwide.com 1.75 78,038,359
17 New York Life Insurance and Annuity Corp. New York (800) 225-5695 newyorklife.com 1.50 66,492,936
18 United of Omaha Life Insurance Co. Omaha, Neb. (800) 377-9000 mutualofomaha.com 1.44 63,866,420
19 Brighthouse Life Insurance Co. Charlotte, N.C. (800) 638-5433 brighthousefinancial.com 1.25 55,719,197
20 Transamerica Life Insurance Co. Cedar Rapids, Iowa (800) 797-2643 transamerica.com 1.25 55,438,845
21 Midland National Life Insurance Co. Sioux Falls, S.D. (800) 843-3316 midlandnational.com 1.16 51,783,028
22 Primerica Life Insurance Co. Duluth, Ga. (800) 257-4725 primerica.com 1.11 49,536,790
23 Pacific Life Insurance Co. Newport Beach, Calif. (800) 347-7787 pacificlife.com 1.10 48,951,387
24 ReliaStar Life Insurance Co. Woodbury, N.Y. (877) 886-5050 voya.com 1.01 45,047,080
25 Nationwide Life and Annuity Insurance Co. Columbus, Ohio (855) 590-9780 nationwide.com 1.01 44,716,068

1 Written for calendar year 2017.       Source: State Corporation Commission





showhide shortcuts