First phase of Southwest Virginia advanced wireless network completed

  •  | 
Print this page
The Virginia Coalfield Coalition has finished the first phase of a multi-million advanced wireless communications network in its seven-county region, which is made up of Lee, Wise, Scott, Buchanan, Dickenson, Russell, and Tazewell counties and the City of Norton.

The first phase, completed this week, allowed certain communities in Buchanan, Dickenson, Russell and Wise counties to access 4G-wireless. Next month, 12 wireless towers will be upgraded expanding 4G service to Lee and Scott counties and the City of Norton. By the end of 2013, 11 new build-to-suit-towers will be deployed to fill in coverage holes in the regional coverage map.

When completed, the project will provide upgraded wireless service to 95,000 households in Southwest Virginia and 2,600 businesses.

The project is being funded by an $11 Million grant from the Virginia Tobacco Indemnification and Community Revitalization Commission.

Reader Comments

comments powered by Disqus

showhide shortcuts