FEMA adds more localities for earthquake aid

  •  | 
Print this page

Virginians in six additional localities now are eligible for earthquake disaster aid.

Residents of Culpeper, Fluvanna, Goochland, Orange and Spotsylvania counties and the city of Fredericksburg can seek help from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) in recovering from the effects of a 5.8-magnitude quake in Louisa County on Aug. 23.

Individual assistance was approved for Louisa on Nov. 4 after Gov. Bob McDonnell appealed FEMA’s initial denial of federal help.

FEMA also has approved assistance to Northampton and Culpeper counties in recovering costs associated with emergency response and damage to critical infrastructure.

The federal Individual Assistance Program provides disaster housing assistance, low-interest loans and grants. Individuals and families in need of earthquake recovery aid can register by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or going online to Phone. lines are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Residents also can visit the Louisa County Disaster Recovery Center at Triangle Plaza, 502 E. Main St., Suite 6000 in Louisa, which will reopen at 10 a.m., Jan. 5. State and federal officials will open a disaster recovery center in Spotsylvania in the coming days.

Business owners can apply to FEMA for low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration. Those applying should be prepared to provide basic information about themselves (name, social security number, address and phone number), insurance coverage and information to help substantiate losses.
Residents in these counties and other areas in the state not included in this declaration should contact their local emergency manager to learn about volunteer groups in their area. Volunteer groups have been active statewide during 2011, helping Virginians recover from disasters where state and federal governments have been unable to assist.

Reader Comments

comments powered by Disqus

showhide shortcuts