Ashland and Fredericksburg designated ‘Virginia Main Street’ communities

  •  | 
Print this page
Ashland and Fredericksburg have joined Virginia Main Street communities, bringing the total number of designated communities in Virginia to 26.

Virginia Main Street, run by the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development, encourages private investment and job creation in Virginia's downtowns. The program helps communities develop strategies that create economic growth and pride in their downtown. To be eligible for the program, communities must have a have populations of 75,000 or less and be committed to a community-based approach that leverages volunteer investments.

Other Virginia Main Street communities include Harrisonburg, Staunton and South Boston. For more information on the program, visit

Reader Comments

comments powered by Disqus

showhide shortcuts