Company News People

People - February, 2011

  •  | 
Print this page


Frank Batten Jr., Bruce L. Thompson and Richard C. Zoretic named to the board of visitors for Eastern Virginia Medical School. Batten is chairman and chief executive of Landmark Media Enterprises, Thompson is CEO of Gold Key/PHR Hotels & Resorts, and Zoretic is executive vice president and COO of Amerigroup Corp.  (The Virginian-Pilot)  

Thomas Farrell, named vice chairman and chairman-elect of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation board of trustees. Farrell is CEO of Dominion Resources. (The Virginian-Pilot) 

David W. Lannetti, inducted into the Virginia Law Foundation Fellows Class of 2011. He is a partner at Vandeventer Black LLP, Norfolk, and focuses on bankruptcy, contracts and other commercial issues.(News release)

Scott Hart, named president of the board of directors of the Greater Williamsburg Tourist Information Center. He is general manager of Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Museum. (News release)

Robert M. Lynch, named president and COO, Lumber Liquidators, Toano. He was president and CEO of Orchard Supply Hardware. (PRNewswire)

Michael Rierson, named senior vice president for development, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Rierson was vice chancellor of university advancement at the University of Houston. (News release)

Michael J. Winner, named principal, HBA Architecture & Interior Design, Virginia Beach. He joined the firm in 1997. (News release)


Josh Hale, elected chairman of the board of directors, Harrisonburg-Rockingham Chamber of Commerce. He is a vice president for Farmers & Merchants Bank. (News release) 

Peter A. Truban, elected to the board of directors, Virginia Farm Bureau Federation. He is a cattle and grain producer in Woodstock. (News release) 

Reid Wodicka announced his resignation as Elkton town manager, effective June 30, to pursue a doctorate in public administration. He became town manager in 2009 while still an undergraduate at JMU. (Daily News-Record)


Shane Brackin, named president of Quality Construction of Danville Inc. He had been project manager at the company since he graduated from North Carolina State University in 1998, Brackin’s father, Dickie Brackin, started Quality Construction 34 years ago. (Danville Register & Bee) 

R. Frank Fox Jr., named vice president of production at Unique Industries Inc., Blairs. He was director of production and has worked for Unique Industries for 19 years. (Danville Register & Bee)  

Michael P. Haley, elected chairman of the board of directors, Stanley Furniture Co., Stanleytown. Also D. Paul Dascoli was named to the board of directors, and Micah S. Goldstein was named CFO. Haley is the former president of case goods manufacturing at American of Martinsville. Dascoli is vice president and CFO of VF Jeanswear. Goldstein joined the company in August. (News release) 

Robert “Bob” Harris, named chairman of the Virginia Farm Bureau’s Young Farmers Committee. Harris is a Chatham cattle and sheep producer. (News release)  

Dan Pleasant, named to the board of directors of American National Bank and Trust and American National Bankshares Inc., Danville. He is chief operating officer of Dewberry Co. (Danville Register & Bee)  


Robert R. Adkins, elected president of the Virginia Association of Counties. Adkins has been a member of the Wise County Board of Supervisors since 1995. (News release)  

Mary Fant Donnan, named director, Alleghany Foundation, Covington. She has been a program officer for economic development at the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation in Winston-Salem, N.C., since 2001. (News release)  

Michael J. Friedlander, named to the external scientific advisory board, Children’s National Medical Center, Washington, D.C. He is executive director of the Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute, Roanoke. (News release)  

Donna Marie Harris, named to the board of directors, Roanoke Valley Association of Realtors. Harris is with Long & Foster Realtors. (The Roanoke Times)  

Mark Hentel joined the law firm Albright & Bongad in Blacksburg as partner. He focuses his practice on business law issues. (The Roanoke Times) 

Brian M. Kleiner, named director of the Myers-Lawson School of Construction in the College of Architecture and Urban Studies, Virginia Tech. He has been professor of industrial and systems engineering, researching relations between humans and technology in automation. (News release) 

Jack and Stan Lanford, named to the American Road & Transportation Builders Association Hall of Fame. The Lanford brothers founded Lanford Brothers Co. in Roanoke 50 years ago. (News release) 


Patrick G. Attilio, named CFO, STG Inc., Reston. He was CFO at Apptis Inc. (Business Wire) 

Edward J. Blum, named executive vice president for development, Interstate Hotels & Resorts, Arlington. Blum was head of capital markets at Molinaro Koger. (PRNewswire) 

James Carroll, named president and CEO, Crestline Hotels and Barcelo Crestline Corp., Fairfax. He was COO for Crestline and CFO for its parent company, Barcelo. (PRNewswire) 

Tina Davis, named CFO, CertiPath, Herndon. Davis was CEO and president of Accounting & Business Consulting Inc. (PRNewswire) 

J.P. “Jack” London, inducted into the Washington Business Hall of Fame. London is chairman of the board for CACI International Inc. in Arlington. (Business Wire) 

Sterling E. Phillips Jr., named CEO and president, GTSI Corp., Herndon. Phillips was chairman and CEO of Analex Corp. for six years. (Business Wire) 

Barbara Polk, named vice president for human resources, Datatel Inc., Fairfax. She was senior vice president for human resources, XO Communications. (Business Wire) 

Jeffrey “JR” Rydant, named senior vice president for national security sector, SRA International Inc., Fairfax. He led the marketing and sales group at SRA. (Business Wire) 

Paul Saleh, named CFO, Gannett Co. Inc., McLean. Slaeh was CFO at Nextel Communications and Sprint Nextel. (Washington Business Journal)  


Eric Gregory, named county attorney in Powhatan. Gregory served seven years as an assistant state attorney general. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

Maurice Jones, named city manager, Charlottesville. He was interim city manager for eight months and previously was assistant city manager for two years. (The Daily Progress)

Stan Manoogian resigned as president of Markel/Eagle Partners LLC, Richmond, for personal considerations. He will be succeeded by Bryan Kornblau. (Richmond Times-Dispatch) 

Herbert E. Marth Jr.,  named president and CEO, Central Virginia Bankshares Inc. and Central Virginia Bank, Powhatan. He was chief operating officer. (Business Wire)

Eric Morales, named middle market relationship manager for the Central Virginia region, M&T Bank, Richmond. Morales joins M&T from Harris Williams & Co. (News release)

J. Todd Newton resigned as CEO and president of Anderson Strudwick, Richmond, for family considerations. He will remain with the company as a consultant.(Richmond Times-Dispatch) 

Dwight Prevo, named to board of directors, ClearPoint Credit Counseling Solutions, Richmond. He is a vice president with Wells Fargo. (Business Wire) 

Daniel A. Pryor, named senior vice president of business development, Colfax Corp., Richmond. He was a partner and managing director with The Carlyle Group. (PRNewswire)

Frank S. Royal declined to run for re-election to the Virginia Union University board of trustees, Richmond. Royal has been a board member since 1971. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

David M. Smith, named to the board of directors, Home Building Association of Richmond. Smith is an associate with Thalhimer/Cushman & Wakefield. (News release)



Reader Comments

comments powered by Disqus

showhide shortcuts