Company News For the Record

People - October 2016

  •  | 
Print this page

The Newport News Shipbuilding division of Huntington Ingalls Industries has promoted Jennifer Dunn to vice president, communications. She was director, communications. (News release)

Virginia Beach-based Marathon Consulting LLC recently added five consultants. Dan Herbert, Charlie Church, and Jonathan Hudson joined as information technology consultants. Tim Christian and Walter Cohn joined as senior business technology consultants. (News release)

Jason McKenzie and Nicole Wood-Sabo have been promoted to members of McPhillips, Roberts and Deans, PLC, Norfolk. McKenzie has more  than 12 years of public accounting experience. Wood-Sabo has over 17 years of public accounting experience. (News release)

Charles W. “Wick” Moorman, the retired chairman, CEO and president of Norfolk Southern Corp., has been named president and CEO of Amtrak. (The Virginian-Pilot)

Virginia Beach-based Davis Ad Agency has promoted Sarah Nicosia to vice president and general manager of its Virginia Beach office.  Nicosia joined the agency in 2001 as an account executive. She later was named director of account services. (

Angela Clem was named Woodstock’s town manager on Aug. 17. She has served as the town’s interim town manager since her predecessor, Reid Wodicka, left to become Bedford County’s assistant county administrator Aug. 1. (The Shenandoah Valley-Herald)

Erik D. Curren, CEO of Curren Media Group, was named to the board of trustees of the Virginia Frontier Culture Museum in Staunton. Paul P. Vames, president of V-K Management Co. Inc., was renamed to the board. (News release)

Carol A. Fleming, interim assistant vice provost, outreach & engagement at James Madison University in Harrisonburg, and Carrie H. Chenery, executive director of the Shenandoah Valley Partnership, received a $330,201 grant from the Shenandoah Valley Partnership to provide economic development support services for regional members, prospects, existing businesses and the partnership. (News release)

Petrina A. Carter has been named to the board of the Institute for Advanced Learning and Research in Danville. She is senior manager at the Virginia Employment Commission in Danville. (News release)

Ken McBride has joined The Lester Group in Martinsville as director of manufacturing for the fortress division. McBride has 20 years’ experience in management of manufacturing operations.  (News release)

L. Michael “Mike” Rowe Jr. has joined CCB Bankshares Inc. as senior vice president-residential market executive for Clarksville and South Boston. Rowe has more than 30 years of community banking experience, with a focus on residential lending for the past 20 years. (

William Dixon has been hired as vice president of business banking, Freedom First Credit Union, Roanoke. He has nearly 30 years of banking experience. (News release)

Brittany Madonna has joined the YMCA of Roanoke Valley as marketing and communications director, and Annie Nichols has been promoted to child care director for Y After School and Y Summer Camp. (The Roanoke Times)

Alison Matthiessen has been named director of communications for the Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine, Roanoke. Matthiessen was communications coordinator for the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost at Virginia Tech. (News release)

Radford University has appointed Katherine “Kitty” McCarthy as the university’s vice president for enrollment management. McCarthy served as the vice president for enrollment management and student affairs at West Virginia State University in Institute, W.Va. (News release)

Debra Meade, retired president and publisher of The Roanoke Times, has been elected to the board of trustees of Hollins University. (The Roanoke Times)
Dr. Kenneth Walker, a Carilion Clinic physician based in Pearisburg, has been named to the state Board of Medicine. (The Roanoke Times)

Drs. Syed Salman Ali, David C. Giammittorio and Kevin P. O’Connor were reappointed to the state Board of Medicine. Ali is hematologist-oncologist with Fauquier Health in Warrenton; Giammittorio is CEO of The Physician and Midwife Collaborative Practice, which has offices in Northern Virginia. O’Connor is a urologist at The Urology Group, part of Loudoun Medical Group. (News release)

CEB Inc.’s chief executive, Tom Monahan, is stepping down at the Rosslyn-based publicly traded company after more than a decade at the helm. Monahan, who joined CEB’s leadership team in 1996 and was named its chief executive in 2005, will stay through June 2017 or until his successor is named. (Washington Business Journal)

Reston-based information technology solutions provider Network Alliance Inc. has been named Byron K. Patrick, managing director, CPA practice. Patrick is co-founder and former CEO of Simplified Innovations  Inc., a Maryland-based technology outsourcing company. (

Germanna Community College President David A. Sam announced he will retire June 30, 2017 after a decade of guiding the college. (Inside NOVA)
Tysons-based CSC has named Lizabeth H. Zlatkus to the company’s board of directors. Zlatkus worked for 28 years at The Hartford Financial Services Group, serving as chief financial officer and chief risk officer, as well as co-president of The Hartford Life Insurance Cos. (

John C. Asbury will succeed G. William “Billy” Beale as chief executive officer and president of Richmond-based Union Bankshares Corp. and as president and CEO of its Union Bank & Trust subsidiary. Asbury, the former president and CEO of First National Bank of Santa Fe in New Mexico, will become president of the parent company and president and CEO of its bank subsidiary effective Oct. 1 and take on the CEO role of the holding company on Jan. 2. Beale will serve as executive vice chairman of the board and the bank until March 31. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

Protection 1 has promoted Will Jackson to general manager for its Richmond district. Jackson was operations manager for the office. (

William D. Nash became president and CEO of Goochland County-based CarMax Inc. Sept. 1. He succeeds Thomas J. Folliard, who remains chairman of the board. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

Henrico County-based Markel Corp. has named its co-CEOs, Thomas S. Gayner and Richard R. Whitt III, to its board of directors. The board also appointed F. Michael Crowley, Markel’s president, as vice chairman. The appointments expand the company’s board to 16 members. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

showhide shortcuts