Company News People

People - January 2018

  •  | 
Print this page

Thomas Barkin, a senior executive at global management consulting firm McKinsey & Co., has been named president of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, effective Jan. 1. He will be a voting member next year of the Federal Open Market Committee, the panel of Fed board members and regional bank presidents that sets interest-rate policies for the central bank. Barkin succeeds Jeffrey Lacker, who resigned in April after revealing his involvement in a leak of confidential information in 2012. (The Associated Press)

Jonathan P. Harmon has been named chairman of McGuireWoods, succeeding Richard Cullen as leader of the biggest law firm in Virginia and the 51st largest in the country. Harmon, elected by McGuireWoods’ board of partners, becomes one of the few African-American attorneys to lead a top 100 law firm. Cullen was chairman for 11 years. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

Chris Holder, one of the founders of and partners in Capital Ale House restaurants, was named the 2017 Distinguished Retailer of the Year by the Richmond-based Retail Merchants organization. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

Alberto Schiavon has been named chief executive officer of Henrico County-based Elephant Insurance Services. Schiavon, 31, is a native of Italy and a five-year employee of Admiral Group, Elephant’s British parent company. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

Tom Burton, named chief development officer, and Julie Woodard, named talent manager, at WHRO Public Media in Norfolk. Burton was vice president for development of WCNY Public Media in Syracuse, N.Y. Woodard recently had her own human resources consulting firm. (News release)

Andrew C. Hodge has been named senior vice president and market executive for South Hampton Roads at Union Bank & Trust. Hodge was senior vice president and group manager for Central/Eastern Virginia for PNC Bank Corp. (News release) 

Pat Mugler has been promoted to executive vice president of CBRE|Hampton Roads. He has worked for the company for more than 25 years. ( 

Judge Dennis Lee Hupp will retire in 2018 after 26 years on the bench in Virginia’s 26th Judicial Circuit. Hupp has been a presiding judge in Shenandoah and Warren counties’ circuit courts since 1992. He also was presiding judge in Rockingham County Circuit Court from 1992 to 1996. (The Shenandoah Valley-Herald) 

Katherine Morrison has been appointed to the board of directors of the Shenandoah Community Foundation in Woodstock. Morrison has a consulting firm for nonprofits, Morrison Nonprofit Transitions, and has served as interim executive director at 13 nonprofits. (The Northern Virginia Daily)

Brian Plum has been elected chairman-elect of the Virginia Association of Community Banks’ board of directors. Plum is president and CEO of Luray-based Blue Ridge Bankshares. (Shenandoah Valley Business Journal)

James F. Woodward has been named senior vice president, finance, and chief financial officer of Shenandoah Telecommunications Co. (Shentel) in Edinburg. He most recently was senior vice president, CFO of Media General Inc. (News release)

Clinton M. Bell of Tazewell and Amanda “Mandy” Fletcher of Abingdon have been named to the state Sheep Industry Board. Bell is the owner/operator of Barns Company Farm. Fletcher is the co-owner/operator of Beyond Blessed Farm and a conservation education specialist in the Holston River Soil and Water Conservation District. Matthew Miller has been renamed to the board. He is an agriculture and natural resources agent for Wythe County with the Virginia Cooperative Extension. (News release) 

Aaron Hicks has joined Jonesville-based Powell Valley National Bank as chief financial officer.  He has nearly 20 years of accounting experience and more than 12 years of experience in the banking industry, most recently as vice president and controller for Highlands Union Bank in Abingdon.  He is a graduate of the Virginia Bankers Association’s School of Bank Management. (News release) 
Four Southwest Virginians have been picked to serve on Gov.-elect Ralph Northam’s transition committee. They are: Mike Hymes, member, Tazewell Board of Supervisors; Del. Todd Pillion (R-Abingdon); state Sen. C. William “Bill” Carrico (R-Grayson County); and Jack Kennedy, clerk of the court, Wise County Circuit Court. The inauguration will be held Jan. 13 in Richmond. ( 

The Roanoke Regional Partnership has named Erin Burcham director of talent solutions. She will oversee a newly created talent attraction program designed to contribute to the workforce needs of area businesses. Burcham joined the partnership after working at Virginia Tech where she served as marketing and program coordinator for the Virginia Tech Roanoke Center.  (News release) 

David Johns has been appointed the 12th president of Ferrum College, effective Jan. 1. Previously, he was vice president of academic affairs at Union College, a private, United Methodist-affiliated liberal arts institution in Barbourville, Ky. Johns also is a peer accreditation reviewer with the SACS Commission on Colleges and serves as chair of the Faculty Research Fellowship Committee with the Appalachian College Association. (News release) 

The Franklin County Family YMCA has named Kevin McAlexander chief operating officer. McAlexander has been with the nonprofit since 2006. He was first hired as a part-time camp counselor and then became a full-time employee in the member services department, where he eventually rose to the position of director. Most recently, McAlexander served as interim CEO. The YMCA’s previous leader, Jim Currie, retired last summer. (The Roanoke Times)

Gov. Terry McAuliffe has appointed Lisa Throckmorton, chief operating officer at SpeakerBox Communications in Vienna, to the Radford University Board of Visitors. Throckmorton is a Radford alumna and serves as vice chair of the advisory board of the university’s College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences. She replaces Mary Ann Hovis who died in August.  (The Roanoke Times) 

Fairfax-based Edelman Financial Services has named Rene Chaze to a newly created role of chief development officer. Chaze had been chief financial officer. He will be succeeded by Jon Isaacson. Isaacson was managing director of buyouts for American Capital Ltd., a publicly traded, private-equity and global asset-management firm that merged with Ares Capital Corp. last year. (News release) 

Booz Allen Hamilton announced that Executive Vice President Joseph Logue, who leads its defense and intelligence businesses, will retire on June 30. The firm announced that beginning April 1, Executive Vice President Karen Dahut will become head of the firm’s defense business and Executive Vice President Christopher Ling will head the intelligence business. Executive Vice President Kristine Martin Anderson will become head of the civil business. (

Johnny C. Taylor Jr. has been named president and CEO of the Alexandria-based Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM). He succeeds Henry Jackson, who had announced plans to retire after 12 years at SHRM. For the past seven years Taylor has been president and CEO of the Thurgood Marshall College Fund, whose members include publicly supported, historically black colleges and universities and predominantly black institutions. ( 

Lisa Throckmorton has been appointed to the Radford University board of visitors. She is chief operations officer and chief marketing officer at Vienna-based SpeakerBox Communications. (News release)

Reader Comments

comments powered by Disqus

showhide shortcuts