Company News People

People - August 2011

  •  | 
Print this page

Jeffrey S. Creekmore, named senior vice president and commercial loan officer, Heritage Bank. He was Chesapeake executive for the Bank of Hampton Roads. (Inside Business)

Kathy Greco, named to the board of directors, Employee Assistance Society of North America. Greco is commercial sales vice president at ValueOptions. (PRNewswire)

Charlie Harris, inducted into Virginia Tech’s College of Engineering Academy of Engineering Excellence. Harris is director of research at NASA Langley Research Center. (Daily Press)

Don King, Carl Johansen, James Leonard Parker, Carlton Hardy, Nicole Carry, Marcus A. Calabrese and Geneva Perry named to the board of directors, Hampton Roads Business OutReach. (Inside Business)

Keira L. Lombardo, named vice president of investor relations and corporate communications, Smithfield Foods Inc., Smithfield. She joined the company in 2002. (PRNewswire)

Raymond J. Mattes III, named president and CEO, Retail Alliance. Norfolk. He was executive vice president. (Inside Business)

Mike Ronca, named executive vice president and loan officer, Old Virginia Mortgage, Virginia Beach. Ronca was with McLean Mortgage. (Inside Business)

Timothy J. Stiffler and Dorothy “Dot” Leach Wood, named to the board of directors, Goodwill Industries of Hampton Roads and Central Virginia. (Inside Business)

Richard D. Tadler resigned from the board of directors of Lumber Liquidators, Toano. He is a managing director of TA Associates. (Business Wire)

Avery Daugherty, named town manager, Grottoes. Daugherty received his undergraduate and graduate degrees in public administration from James Madison University. (Daily News-Record)

Kevin Fauber, named town manager, Elkton. He served as manager for Strasburg for 24 years, leaving in July 2010. (Daily News-Record)

Holly Ratwani, named to the “Top 5 Under 35” list by Disclosures, a magazine of Virginia’s Society of Certified Public Accountants. She is an associate professor of business relations at Bridgewater College. (Daily News-Record)

Harry Smith, named Winchester market executive for Union First Market Bank. Smith was president and CEO of First National Corp., of Strasburg, until his retirement in January. (The Winchester Star)

Leigh Cockram, named director of the Southern Virginia Regional Alliance. She was vice president of the Martinsville-Henry County Economic Development Corp. (Martinsville Bulletin)

Jerry Falwell Jr., Bonnie Harmon, David R. Lohr, Cheryl Thompson-Stacy and Kai J. Zhang, named to the board of the A.L. Philpott Manufacturing Development Partnership. (News release)

Lois A. Clarke named president, The United Co., Bristol. Also named were J. Thomas Fowlkes, general counsel; Barbara Bjerke, CFO; and Steven Layfield and Martha McGlothlin Gayle, senior vice presidents.  (News release)

Christine Fiori, named a top 25 newsmaker for contributions to the construction industry by Engineering News-Record. She is a faculty member of the Myers-Lawson School of Construction at Virginia Tech. (News release)

Nancy McGehee and Zvi Schwartz, named fellows of Hospitality Revenue and Financial Management for the Pamplin College of Business at Virginia Tech. (News release)

Sarah Powell, named one of the “Influential Women of Virginia” by Virginia Lawyers Media. Powell is senior vice president, general counsel and corporate secretary at Advance Auto Parts, Roanoke. (The Roanoke Times)

Donald J. Sipher, named president of the American Council of Engineering Companies of Virginia. He is a vice president at Froehling and Robertson Inc., Roanoke. (News release)

Julie Walters Steele, named director, Reynolds Homestead Continuing Education Center, Critz. Steele worked in the Division of Student Affairs, Virginia Tech.(News release)

Linda Webb resigned as director of development, United Way of Roanoke Valley, citing family reasons. (The Roanoke Times)

Jim Abrahamson, named president and COO, Interstate Hotels & Resorts, Arlington. He was president, the Americas, for Intercontinental Hotel Group. (Business Wire)

Mike Beach, named CFO, Digital Signal Corp., Alexandria. Beach retired as CFO at Blackboard Inc. last year. (Washington Business Journal)

Jeffrey W. Hodges, named senior vice president and CFO, Tier Technologies Inc., Reston. He was CFO for Firethorn Holdings LLC. (Business Wire)

Paul Leslie, named CEO, Dovel Technologies Inc., McLean. He was president of Apptis Inc. (Washington Business Journal)

Sandra Cordova Micek, named senior vice president for marketing, USA Today, McLean. Micek has held executive positions at NBC Universal and Yahoo. (PRNewswire)

Linda Mills received the Corporate Public Sector Large Business Leadership Award from Women in Technology. She is corporate vice president and president of Northrop Grumman’s Information Systems Sector. (Globe Newswire)

Ernest J. Moniz, named to the board of directors, ICF International Inc., Fairfax. Moniz is a professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and director of the Laboratory for Energy and the Environment. (Business Wire)

Timothy Naughton, named CEO, AvalonBay Communities Inc., Arlington. He will remain president, a position that he has held since 2005. (Washington Business Journal)

Edward O’Hare, named senior vice president for technology business, Koniag Development Corp., Chantilly. He led business development at Dynanet Corp. (Business Wire)

Christopher S. Oglesby, named senior vice president of business development, Knowledge Consulting Group, Reston. He was business development officer for Policy Studies Inc. (News release)

Michael J. Premo, named president and CEO, ARC, Arlington. He joined the company in 2006 as vice president of business development. (PRNewswire)

Harry C. Thornsvard, named president and COO, Global Analytic Information Technology Services, Fairfax. He was COO for TranTech. (PRNewswire)

L. Thomas Richards, named president, TessArae LLC, Potomac Falls. Richards, a physician, is a former investment banker dealing with mergers and acquisitions. (PRNewswire)

Michael Bryant, named president and CEO, Centra Health System, Lynchburg. Bryant has held the same positions at Methodist Health Services Corp. in Illinois. (The Roanoke Times)

William E. Johnson III, named city manager, Petersburg. He has been city manager of College Park, Ga., since 2009 and is a former Chesterfield County and Richmond deputy administrator. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)

David Lamb, named to the Virginia Horse Industry Board. He is owner of Oakland Heights Farm, Gordonsville. (News release)

Sean T. O’Brien, named executive vice president and COO, Montpelier, Orange County. He became executive director of the Center for the Constitution at Montpelier in 2008. (The Daily Progress)

Pam Rodriguez, named executive vice president, EastPay, Richmond. Rodriguez joined EastPay in 2007 after serving as executive director of the Alabama Automated Clearing House Association. (Business Wire)

Daphne Swanson, named president, Junior Achievement of Central Virginia, Richmond. She joined the organization in 2005 and was COO.
(Richmond Times-Dispatch)

Russell Thurston, named town manager, Brookneal. Thurston is a licensed life insurance agent with DeJarnette Insurance. (News & Advance)

John S. West, named managing partner, Troutman Sanders LLP, Richmond. He has been a partner since 2001 and is deputy group leader of the White Collar and Government Investigations group. (News release)

Alan D. Wilson, named to the board of directors, MeadWestvaco Corp., Richmond. Wilson is chairman, president and CEO of McCormick & Co. Inc. (Business Wire)




Reader Comments

comments powered by Disqus

showhide shortcuts