Company News People

People - April 2011

  •  | 
Print this page

Gerald Baliles, awarded the Economic Impact Award by the Economics Club of Hampton Roads. Baliles is director of the Miller Center at the University of Virginia and a former Virginia governor. (News release) 

William B. Downey, named president of Riverside Health System, Newport News. Downey, who has been COO since 2003, will become CEO at year’s end. (News release)

Jeanne Evans-Cox, named executive director of the Central Business District Association, Virginia Beach. She was regional representative in Hampton Roads for Sen. Jim Webb. (The Virginian-Pilot)   

Margaret Edds, former political reporter and columnist for The Virginian-Pilot; Gary T. McCollum, senior vice president for Cox Communications; and Bill O’Donovan, publisher of The Virginia Gazette in Williamsburg, named to the Virginia Communications Hall of Fame. (Richmond Times-Dispatch)  

Scott Tilley, named to the board of directors for the Virginia Manufacturers Association. Tilley is general counsel and a member of the executive council of Stihl Inc., Virginia Beach. (News release)


Jeffrey Beyer, named senior vice president of operations, Citizant, Chantilly. He was president of The Engle Group. (Business Wire) 

John E. Cody, former COO of Broadcast Music Inc., named to the board of directors of Gannett Co. Inc., McLean. Leaving the board are Donna E. Shalala and Karen Hastie Williams.  (Business Wire)  

Mark Fisher, named CEO, Sports & Health, McLean. Fisher has been president and COO of the company for three years. (Washington Business Journal)  

Robert Gatto, named CEO of PointRoll, an Internet advertising division of Gannett Co. Inc. Gatto was senior vice president of sales.(Washington Business Journal)

Jack Harvey, named president and CEO of National Rural Telecommunications Cooperatives, Herndon. He had held the position on an interim basis since June. (Business Wire)  

Lloyd Howell, named 2011 Black Engineer of the Year by U.S. Black Engineer and Information Technology magazine. Howell is executive vice president at Booz Allen Hamilton, McLean. (PRNewswire) 

James Morgan, named executive vice president and CFO of Serco Inc., Reston. (Washington Business Journal)  

Horacio D. Rozanski, named executive vice president and COO of Booz Allen Hamilton Holding Corp., McLean. He was executive vice president and chief strategy and talent officer. (PRNewswire) 

Cheryl L. Steinbacher, named senior vice president, director of human resources, Cardinal Bank, Tysons Corner. She held positions with Integra Bank in Indiana. (Business Wire)  

Lucia Anna “Pia” Trigiani, installed as president of the Virginia Bar Association. She is a founding partner in the Alexandria law firm MercerTrigiani. (News release) 

George Wilson, named executive vice president and chief strategy officer, Electronic Consulting Services Inc., Fairfax. He held executive positions at Stanley Inc. (PRNewswire) 

Edwin J. Jones, named associate dean of the College of Agriculture, Virginia Tech, and director of the Virginia Cooperative Extension. He has been a professor at North Carolina State University. (News release)  

Fred Lee, named to the National Academy of Engineering. Lee is a professor at Virginia Tech and an expert in power electronics and its application to consumer and commercial uses. (News release)  

Sam Minner, named provost of Radford University. He is the founding dean of the School of Health Sciences and Education at Truman State University, Kirksville, Mo. (The Roanoke Times)

Jeff Perkins, named COO, Boxley Materials Co., Roanoke. Also named at other Boxley locations were Stan Puckett, president, Sawyer Paving, Salem; and Jeb Burton, president, Templeton Paving, Lynchburg. (The Roanoke Times)

Dixie Tooke-Rawlins, named to the Virginia Health Workforce Development Authority. She is dean and executive vice president of the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine. (The Roanoke Times)

Robyn Schon, named general manager, Roanoke Civic Center. She succeeds Chris Connolly, who was named to head the Iowa Events Center by Global Spectrum of Philadelphia, which owns both facilities. (The Roanoke Times)


Roger Franklin, named CFO, Dynamic Aviation, Bridgewater. Franklin was CFO and corporate secretary of Quest Aircraft Co. LLC. (Business Wire)  

Chris Price resigned as executive director of the Northern Shenandoah Valley Regional Commission to become planning director for Prince William County. (The Winchester Star)

Winsome Sears, named to the State Board of Education. Sears, a Frederick County resident, is president of Shenandoah Appliance, Plumbing & Electric and is a former state legislator. (News release)


Debbie Lewis resigned as director of development for the Virginia Museum of Natural History, Martinsville. She had worked for the museum for 2½ years. (Martinsville Bulletin)

R.B. Sloan Jr. resigned as director of Danville Utilities to become CEO of the Pedernales Electric Cooperative in Johnson City, Texas. Sloan became the city’s utilities director in 2009. (Danville Register & Bee)

William S. “Billy” Wilkinson, named to the board of directors, Citizens Community Bank, South Hill. He is president of Wilkinson Enterprise and is involved with several other ventures. (PRNewswire)


Jeffrey M.  Anderson plans to resign as president and CEO of the Virginia Economic Development Partnership. He will stay on until his successor is named. He joined VEDP in 2005.  (

Whitt Clement, named chairman of the board of directors for the Virginia Chamber of Commerce. Clement is a partner with the law firm Hunton & Williams and a former state legislator. (Danville Register & Bee)

Robert Dube, named county administrator for Louisa County. He became the county’s first fire chief in 2008 after retiring from the Fairfax County Fire and Rescue after 28 years of service. (The Daily Progress)

Hugh M. Fain III, installed as president-elect of the Virginia Bar Association. He is managing director at the law firm Spotts Fain PC, Richmond. (News release)

Richard L. “Dick” Ford, named to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects. Ford is principal emeritus at Commonwealth Architects, Richmond. (Richmond Times-Dispatch) 

John H. Lindgren Jr., named to the Virginia Communications Hall of Fame. He is a marketing professor and director of the McIntire Business Institute at the University of Virginia. (Richmond Times-Dispatch) 

David R. Lohr resigned as vice president of business development at the Virginia Biosciences Development Center. He will become president and executive director of the Commonwealth Center for Advanced Manufacturing in Prince George County. (News release)

James V. Meath, named chairman, Williams Mullen, Richmond. Meath joined the firm in 1985 and has been vice chairman for five years. (

Beth Rilee-Kelley, named chief operating officer of The Martin Agency, Richmond. She was partner and director of human resources. (

Reader Comments

comments powered by Disqus

showhide shortcuts